I Climb this Rock

Image

 

I Climb this Rock

 

Without regard to stature or Stock

 

With total reverence to the flock 

 

Each breath and spasm my hands will lock 

 

Around this massive uninviting rock

 

I Climb this Rock

 

It is my burden I bare 

 

 The Effort is not of whim or dare

 

My eyes are wide open, deep in cautious stare

 

Each painful step calls for utmost care

 

I Climb, I climb this Rock 

 

Despite the uncertainly and  upheaval

 

Filled with heartless acts which are Medieval

 

Among the harden hearts with the demeanor of a weasel 

 

I will Climb this Rock

 

Despite my body and soul continuing to be thrashed

 

The Critics tongues with ugly venom that constantly lashed 

 

Like a poison that irritates and leaves a rash

 

Without choice I will Climb this Rock

 

Hard and Cold like unbridle lust

 

It leaves a taste, metallic like ancient rust

 

Slip I can’t: A fall would be bust

 

My soul, my life would be all but worthless dust

 

Yet still I must climb this Rock

 

The Rock isn’t found in this world, this place

 

It has more than one name, often a distinguishable face

 

It’s a rock that is known by the Human Race

 

It must be navigated and done in ones own pace

 

I must climb this Rock

 

Not of Iron, or granite or Pyrargyrite

 

Nor of formulas, equations of finite 

 

For at this crest I will find a brilliant light

 

The truth will be disclosed, and the end of my night

 

When I finish this Climb of this Rock 

 

This Rock of Life I will Climb

 

This Rock of Life I will traverse

 

This Rock of Life will be mine

 

This Rock of Life the Universe 

 

© Park 2013

Leave a Reply

